Five Students Named Southwest Idaho AHEC Scholars

Five first-year medical students at the Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine were recently named Southwest Idaho Area Health Education Center (SW ID AHEC) Scholars.

(L-R) Jackson Thennis, Savannah Moore, Marisa Vander Feen, and Daniel Rotante. Not pictured: David Li.

Student Doctors David Li, Savannah Moore, Daniel Rotante, Jackson Thennis, and Marisa Vander Feen are part of the 2022-2024 AHEC Scholars cohort, which also includes health professions students from Boise State University and Idaho State University.

Selected from a large pool of students, these students will participate in a unique two-year inter-professional program focused on team-based care in rural and underserved settings. SW Idaho AHEC scholars receive $1,000 in stipends upon successful completion of required activities and a nationally-recognized AHEC Scholar Certificate.

SW Idaho AHEC is part of a nationwide system of programs created to improve the distribution, diversity, and supply of the primary healthcare workforce, with a special emphasis on meeting the needs of rural and underserved areas. 

Share This Story