ICOM Students Accepted into NHSC Scholarship Program

Five students at the Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine have been accepted into the National Health Service Corps (NHSC) Scholarship Program.

Melanie Athens, OMS-II and Austin Varni, OMS-II

Student Doctors Melanie Athens and Austin Varni, both second-year students at ICOM, alongside Student Doctors Gabe Heath, Renee Lawrence and Alex McLean, first-year students at ICOM, were inducted into the program.

The NHSC Scholarship Program awards scholarships to students pursuing eligible primary care health professions training. In return, scholars commit to provide primary care health services in Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs). Students commit to a minimum of two years of full-time service in exchange for a full year of scholarship support. 

Student Doctors Kaleb Merrick and Jessica Roland, members of ICOM’s Class of 2023, were also named NHSC Scholars in 2019. 


Renee Lawrence, OMS-I; Alex McLean, OMS-I; and Gabe Heath, OMS-I.

Share This Story